committees & past directors

CEAS is governed by a faculty Steering Committee which sets administrative policy and determines Center priorities and goals. In addition, several smaller faculty committees are convened yearly to manage admissions, continuing student and postdoctoral fellowships, and for other purposes as needed. The current Steering Committee members are:

Gordon Chang, History, Director
Karen Eggleston, Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies
John Kieshnick, Religious Studies
Indra Levy, East Asian Languages & Cultures
Jean Oi, Political Science
Jun Uchida, History

center for east asian studies directors

Gordon Chang History 2011—
Kären Wigen History 2009—2011
Chaofen Sun East Asian Lang. & Cultures 2006—2009
Carl Bielefeldt Religious Studies 2004—2006
Jean Oi Political Science 1998—2004
Harold Kahn History 1997—1998
Peter Duus History 1995—1997
Susan Matisoff Asian Languages 1992—1995
Lyman P. Van Slyke History 1988—1992
Albert Dien Asian Languages 1984—1988
Makoto Ueda Asian Languages 1981—1984
Peter Duus History 1977—1981
Albert Dien Asian Languages 1976—1977
Victor H. Li Law 1974—1976
Lyman P. Van Slyke History 1973—1974
Albert Dien Asian Languages 1972—1973
Lyman P. Van Slyke History 1970—1972
John W. Lewis Political Science 1969—1970

committee on east asian studies chairs

John W. Lewis Political Science 1968—1969
Lyman P. Van Slyke History 1967—1968
Nobutaka Ike Political Science 1965—1967
Kurt Steiner Political Science 1964—1965
Thomas C. Smith History 1960—1964